Rant: LB Seminars “Discovery Training” Review (Part One)

This past week, I attended a four-day seminar called “Discovery Training”, which was held in Richmond, BC. Basically, LB Seminars (aka PSI Seminars) is an organization that supposedly teaches and promotes enhancing the human experience by creating liberty in the lives of students. The strategies presented aim  to optimize every area of life. They claim that the majority of students found “substantial increases” in the following areas:

  • Dramatically improved communication abilities;
  • Enhanced personal relationships;
  • Gained more confidence and increase productivity;
  • Discover more creativity, direction and focus, etc.

A friend former friend of mine had invited me to attend a guest event (prior to Discovery Training), which was pretty much an information session explaining the program. As I walked in, there was positive energy surrounding the room, filled with smiling, energetic, and upbeat people. I’d guess there was about 30 people there including myself. This day was “Graduation Day” for the previous Discovery Training program students, where I saw my former friend receive a certificate along with his other classmates. One-by-one, as they assembled a line at the front of the room, most of their smiles couldn’t be contained. As some of them spoke their testimonials, quite a few said before doing the program, they were shy, quite, had little-to-no confidence, and low self-esteem, etc. As I sat in my seat with a stoned-face, I was reflecting on the times when I was just like them.

Backing up to year 2012, a girl I met also introduced me to a similar program called “Basic”, which was probably offered by PSI Seminars. I attended their information session and it was the same thing–positive atmosphere, praise and compliments to the program and company. Their cost to do the Basic program was around $900-$1000. In my head, the inner Ken laughed and said: “What kind of idiot would spend that kind of money to improve themselves? No f’n way.”

So now in 2014, at the time I went to the information session, I was fighting bouts of depression while dealing with relationship problems and having no job. Feeling somewhat lost and desperate, and also being in the wrong state of mind, I actually signed up for the Discovery Training program for around $500-600 (which was “discounted” from around $850). A few weeks later, “Big mistake Kenny” said the inner Ken.

I guess a part of me wanted to see what this was all about. After talking to some of the graduates, it seemed like it worked well for them, shaping their characters to who they wanted to be. LB Seminar’s refund policy stated they would give a refund (minus $100 for “processing fees”) after I complete the program, provided that I submit a letter within 48 hours of the final session.

The actual program wasn’t to start for another two months after the information session so I had lots of time to research LB Seminars. As I initially thought, I was gonna have to be prepared to put up with a lot of BS, which I will discuss in Part Two in my next post.

9 responses to “Rant: LB Seminars “Discovery Training” Review (Part One)

  1. please do not associate LB Seminars with PSI Seminars. LB Seminars and PSI Seminars ended their relationship in 2012. LB Seminars used to operate as a contractor for PSI but now they are in no way related and are two distinctly different companies.

    • Whether it’s the same company or not, they both follow the same principles and ideas. Both are filled with crazy delusional dumb shits who got brainwashed by some cult leader. And both “companies” somehow make money from those lost souls. I pity them.

  2. Is this the same 4 day seminar as Breakthrough by ACCD? I can find old info on the internet about these kinds of seminars but yours is the most up to date stuff. Make no mistake. This is a business that wants nothing more than your money, period.

    • I just Googled ACCD and yes it sounds just like LB Seminars. Just another group of con artists and brainwashing dipshits stealing everyone’s money. These “seminars” are all the same but come in different names.

  3. Paul Sahota, some jabroni named Bill and that cunt Littley Dosanjh are nothing but a bunch of dirty con artists. If you Google Littley Dosanjh and lawsuit there was some kind of legal case against her. Not surprised hearing that since she back stabs and talks shit behind everyone’s back. Why do I know this? Well it’s because I heard her talking shit about some of the attendees while they were standing behind their curtains. I wanted to slap their stupid grins off their ugly faces. Paul has a really bad breath and Bill smells like rotting onions.

  4. Can you please elaborate on what was being said about the participants. I was in the seminar this weekend and reading your comments are quite disheartening.

    • Hi Jasmine,

      Thanks for checking out my blog. When my friend and I attended the seminar, the people in charge were scouting out the people in attendance. During a few breaks, I heard them from behind a curtain making disparaging remarks about the atendees and some things they said were:

      “Man these people are easily giving in to the program. We need to make them more vulnerable so I guess that’s why we keep them here longer.”

      “Some of the students are really hungry. That one fat lady could really use a diet though.”

      “I think everyone from this group will sign up for the next stage of the program, especially that blubbering old lady.”

      What I have written is what I heard exactly, word-for-word. These people don’t care about you or anyone else. They just want more people to sign up so that they get more money.

  5. OMG I feel sick to my stomach right now. I did open up a lot about a loss of my husband 2 years ago and did sign up for the next part. Although I learned a lot about myself that I want to work on and have come out with much more clarity on what I want to do next. I do not enjoy being made fun of or being fooled into this. I don’t know what to do now, since I paid for the next portion:(
    When did you do the program?

    • You can write a letter to them stating you had a financial emergency come up and need the money back but since the last time I went, they probably changed their refund policy but you can still try.

      I did the program back in early 2014. I read many bad things about the seminar before I went but in order to get my money back I had to complete all 4-5 days of Discovery.

Leave a comment